Some people believe that technology has made man more sociable.To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Technology has become a ubiquitous part of the society and it makes people believe that technology is responsible for making them more sociable. I completely disagree with this view because I believe that being social does not mean acquainting / connecting with new people and interacting on digital media; rather it is about maintaining personal interactions with the people around. To begin with, technology has enabled most people to live in a virtual world wherein they only interact with virtual friends and followers. They do not care about the people around them. They are in a desperate need to amass more likes and shares on social media. Even when attending a family function or a meeting, people are busy browsing their social media accounts and thus they fail to be attentive to the people around them. They are so busy showing themselves off in the digital world that they forget about the real people near them. The advances in technology have made people show more interest in the online life; however, it made them forget about face to face interaction. A recent study has shown that as youngsters spend more time on social media, they have become less sociable in real life. The vast majority of them do not even know who lives next door but they have virtual friends on all continents. It is true that computers and mobile phones connect the universe and help people to find friends across the world. On the contrary, technology fails to connect real life persons and as a result there is a decline in human values and interactions. Technology makes people fake; it does not show the real trait of a person. For example, before the invention of technology, people shared happiness, pain, smiles and they extended their helping hands to the fellow humans. Nowadays they are portraying themselves to be socially active just for the sake of digital likes and shares. In conclusion, technology fails to make man sociable in the real world. Being sociable lies in sharing a physical smile rather than a digital smiley. Although technology offers greater connectivity among people worldwide, it is really making people less sociable.