In recent years,more and more people tend to live individually.What are the causes of this trend?Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

Indian culture has witnessed a dramatic change over the last few years. It seems like people are following a lifestyle which is an amalgamation of western and domestic thinking. A notable trend in this new culture is the existence of nuclear families. It is hard to find a house where more than six members are living. This essay discusses the various reasons that led to this particular culture and its impact on society. The millennials are seen as confident working professionals who desire to have their own identity from a very young age. Their jobs have a spectrum of requirements which is broader than ever before. The work environment has more uncertainty which has pushed people to live on their own in order to meet the needs of the changing environment. Moreover,the huge generation gap within the families has accelerated this process of change in their style of living. Living by yourself can affect society both positively and negatively. It makes you self sufficient and therefore dependable. Such a workforce is an asset to the community. On the other hand, this kind of living may encourage a person to be less empathetic towards the needs of the community in which he lives. Togetherness, trust and other social values may take a hit in general in the public as a whole. As a conclusion, achieving a balance between personal, social and community needs is a must irrespective of the way people decide to live. The idea of smaller groups cannot eliminate the inherent need of a human to feel belonged in larger groups or else it would be a catastrophe.