Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

The opinion is divided whether students can attend in their favourite courses or every student follow the school's syllabus. The former method can have benefits in some cases, however, I still think the later one is more valid for students. First, there are some minor positive impacts which children can reap from selecting classes which contain their interested areas, one of which is motivation. This is because when they take part in those courses, they will easily pay more attention to their lessons and increase their productivity significantly. A case in point is that pupils love to calculate difficult probability in Math, they can decrease the amount of time to complete their assignments if they regularly participate in Math classes. However, it also can lead to some drawbacks for children if they only focus on their favourite topics. In fact, some students in Asian countries spend more time learning science fields such as Physics, Chemistry rather than History, Geography. Although it helps them master in academic fields, it can limit their general knowledge. Therefore, learning compulsory course is more logical since schools will create a timetable by setting up suitable classes and balance its time. This schedule is useful for the intellectual development of children as it can not only study science areas but also participate in elective subjects and other outdoor activities. Instead of focusing on a subject during many hours and feeling exhausted, the timetable can help them relax as well as provide more energy to the next class due to a small break after a 45-minute class. Evidence can be seen in Singapore where has the best educational system, pupils usually study from 9am to 2pm, after that they will attend in elective courses. As a result, it also is a country which has the highest percentage of graduation. In conclusion, despite some benefits of optional classes, the required course is still more effective.