Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that being a talented sportsperson is a good excuse for misbehaving inside and outside the game. This essay disagrees that the ability to perform well on games should prevent players from facing the consequences of their misbehaviour, as they are advised to be role models to children and they should be respectful towards their fanbase. Many youngsters look up to celebrities and athletes. Children and young adults consider them as their icons, they try to become like them by imitating what they do. Therefore, the way that players act on the field indirectly influences children and teenagers. If sportsmen and sportswomen thought that it is okay to be disrespectful and arrogant inside and outside the field, kids and adolescents would also be affected. Furthermore, these children would think that such misconduct is acceptable. For example, children who witness an act of violence by famous and talented footballers in tournaments and football championships, behave in the same manner while they are playing with their peers. As a result, many young people will believe that excellent athletic performance gives them the freedom to act as they want, even if it offends other people. Sports figures should also be held accountable for their attitude outside the game. Firstly, players should respect their fans and reporters, and be friendly with them during conferences and while walking down the streets. Secondly, they should respect the law, as numerous athletes are caught up with many law infringements such as exceeding speed limits. For instance, many footballers become annoyed by the constant attention given to them by reporters and spectators, so they start to act arrogantly and rudely. Accordingly, this leaves a bad impression of these players and drives away their fans, and eventually damaging their reputation. In conclusion, being talented and efficient should not exempt anyone from punishment. Each inappropriate behaviour should be followed by an appropriate penalty, regardless of a person’s status and abilities