In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that in the contemporary world most part of information can be found online which is a way different from the past when people used to acquire knowledge only from physical books. In my opinion, the internet has brought more benefits in comparison to its drawbacks. The main reason I believe that online information is crucial is that it turned the access to information more democratic. In the past, a person who needed to learn from books should buy it, which can be a challenge since books can be pricey in most part of the time. Nowadays, people only need to have an internet connection to have access to all kind of information; thus, everyone is able to learn and become informed. Secondly, people, which are mainly students, do not need to commute to libraries anymore since they can find all information needed from their homes. On the other hand, some people consider that online information can be tricky. Despite the facility to reaching any kind of subject, the internet can also provide misinformation due to the fact that anyone can put articles, works or source online. To illustrate, Wikipedia, which is one of the most accessed portal on the internet, help learners from all parts of the world, however, most parts of the information displayed there are wrong and lead people to extract wrong information from the articles. This happens due to the fact that anyone can upload and edit the information directly on the website. As a consequence, people could easily input wrong information in order to harm learners. In conclusion, online information far outweighs any minor downside that could result from searching for knowledge online.