People say that it is a waste of time for highschool students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people, nowadays, believe that learning novels, poems and other types of lessons related to literature in highschool waste a lot of time. However, I disagree with this view because I think pupils can reap several benefits from studying literature. First of all, it is extremely effective for their general knowledge since they can learn about not only traditional cultures but also global problems through poems. Due to those poems, they can acquire new vocabularies and expand their own understanding. As a result, they can apply their lessons to write their essays professionally or communicate fluently as well as practice critical thinking. In fact, people taking high positions such as directors are usually good at literature. On the one hand, this subject also makes students increase their creativity. Unlike learning formulas by heart in Math course, children have to imagine characters and backgrounds in a novel when they participate in literature class. Doing this can help them easily find specific features of each literary genre and distinguish it. Evidence can be seen in the marketing industry in which there have many talents in literature. People working in this area, they usually create interesting contents to attract new customers through articles. In conclusion, literature should be a compulsory subject in high school as it provides many benefits for the intellectual development of pupils.