Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is common that enormous adults are worried about the negative influences of watching televisions on young generations. And also, another group of persons hold an optimist thought towards this phenomenon. From my point of view, I believe that watching the tube can bring both merits and disadvantages to the boys and girls, and the reasons will be presented below. On the one hand, the priority con of watching the box is that children’s mental health might be adversely influenced by some TV programs since children can not select and distinguish what knowledge is suitable for them to watch. This means a considerable large amount of TV programs aimed at no specific audiences, and the programs which contain pornography and violence contents might be seen by young individuals. It will lead to the imitation of unlawful behaviours in the shows among young generations such as fighting, digging drugs and rape. In China, for instance, since there is no rating system to denote a TV series’ suitability for certain age-groups. Chinese young generations are eligible to watch any bloody or violent programs without companions. This might explain why the crime rate of juvenile offenders in China are remaining the growth in recent decades. Therefore, it is important to establish the censorship system to guarantee the quality and values of the tv programmes for young generations. On the other hand, it is also undeniable that the stunning and colourful images on TV can dramatically stimulate kids’ interests in learning, and also it can help children to remember more information. A report of the Times showed, compared with traditional textbooks and lectures, visualizations of knowledge on TV can provide mixtures of information which substantially help individuals to possess an improvement on their memorizing of knowledge. Besides that, the memories with images can last longer than literal information. In this case, educational and inspirational tv programmes can be encouraged to broadcast among kids. Because it seems that watching proper shows can bring plenty of benefits to children’s studying. In conclusion, even though there is much controversy about whether children are beneficial from watching tv. In my opinion, I think it can be both harmful and advantageous to young generations. Hence, it is crucial that children are watching educational and suitable tv shows instead of restricted-rated programs.