As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend? Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern society, there is a tendency that the public live alone or make small size of families. In this essay, I will discuss why it can be considered as progress. To begin with, there are some obvious causes of the issue. Firstly, the living cost today is higher than in the past. Due to the global financial crisis, a number of people have difficulties in living, meaning that people make the same amount of income, while they have fewer abilities to afford product prices. For example, in Sydney Australia, the house price increased more than three times compared to 20 years ago. Which can lead people to give their marriage up or make families with their parents. Also, youngsters want to be independent from their parents. Young people find it happier to live alone. This is because young adults can guarantee their own time and space. It seems like no one would interfere with them. Considering the reasons mentioned above, the trend towards living alone is obviously beneficial since they can enjoy their life. First of all, living individuals enables people to have more spacious places in their homes. The public no longer shares their spaces with their families so that they can do their hobbies at home. For example, in Korea, young individuals own two-bedroom apartments alone, and therefore they can put physical equipment at home to exercise. Moreover, citizens can relax more at their home. In other words, when they stay with their parents or other people, they might get stressed from others. In conclusion, people can be happier by living only themselves such as having more space for hobbies and getting less stress from others.