Some parents think that childcare centres provide the best services for children of pre-school age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better carers for their kids. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that nursery is the best place for children before starting the formal education whereas others think that immediate family members are the perfect persons to take care of their kids. It is agreed that family people provide the best service in case of looking after the children. Firstly, this essay will discuss how social skill will develop into children through child care centres and secondly, will discuss the fact of safety, which is ensured by family members; before coming to the conclusion that family members are best carers for kids. On the one hand, some parents argue that child care centres are the best institution for their kids because their infants can learn many skills from that place. In other words, skills such as communication, cooperation can be easily developed into a child ’s nature when that child gets an opportunity to mix with other children. However, this essay disagrees with this point of view because a child ’s attitude, personality and norms mainly depend on what he or she has learned from the family members. For example, an empirical study by Cambridge University in 2009 found that 95% of children in Japan are polite and amiable because their parents and grandparents had taught the importance of those values. On the other hand, it is considered by many people that grandparents or other family members serve the best as a child carer. This is because parents do not have to worry about the security of their children when kids stay with their blood relatives. Parents remain sure that no one can harm their children when they will stay at home with their loved ones. This thing cannot be said by giving 100% guarantee in the case of childcare centres. This can be illustrated by the fact that 93% of primary school children in the UK recommended in keeping their younger siblings at home because they did not have many positive experiences in nurseries. In conclusion, even though there are arguments for childcare centres as the best service provider for pre-school children, this essay believes it is better to keep infants under the supervision of family members because of the safety and security issue.