The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the problems which a growing population of overweight people causes for the healthcare system, many people advocate that the key to solving this issue is to have more game and exercise in schools. I completely agree that this is the best way to tackle the issue of deteriorating public health in relation to weight. Firstly, dealing with the issues surrounding obesity and weight problems can be best solved by taking a long term approach and introducing more athletics and exercise in schools. To further elaborate, this method ensures that the coming generation will be healthier and will not have such health problems. For instance, at a moment, the average child in the West does sport possibly twice a week, which is not enough to counteract their otherwise sedentary lifestyle. However, by incorporating more sports classes into the school curriculum, as well as encouraging extra-curriculum sports activities, they will undoubtedly become fitter and more active. Another point to consider is that having more sports lessons for children in schools will probably result in children developing an interest in exercise which might filter through to other members of their family and have a longer-lasting effect. In other words, parents with sporty offspring are more likely to get involved in sports as a way of encouraging their children. Therefore, by both parents being involved, it will ensure that the children grow up to incorporate sport into their daily lives. Moreover, this is certainly a natural and lasting way to improve public health. In conclusion, to deal with an increasing population of unfit, overweight people, changing the lifestyle of the coming generation by introducing sport in schools is the easiest and most effective method to use.