A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people believe that wealth and placement in the society are the determinants of one's value and that traditional characteristics such as being kind, honourable and trustworthiness are no longer significant in judging a person. This essay disagrees with this statement and will discuss that inner characters are of more important than what is in a person's facade. The rise in popularity of social media has greatly influenced how people view others. The good side of life is often depicted in these social platforms such as Facebook and Instagram. The contents that people mostly share includes newly bought expensive gadgets, fine dining experiences, travels to different parts of the globe and other materials that pronounced how rich and powerful they are. As a result, viewers tend to believe what they see and based a person's worth according to that. This does not show or reveal one's true character. Ones' Genuity can be seen in times of need. During ordeals true people can show their care and concern to their fellow human beings. There are people, that can be considered as indigents, are more willing to lend a helping hand easy and readily even they have almost nothing. For instance, informal settlers in city areas are known to be poor but very helpful to their neighbours by sharing food because they understand grave hunger. In conclusion, the internet portrays people to have thick wallets and being VIPs solely on the basis of selective images. Inner values like honour, kindness and trust are far more remarkable especially in times of struggles where true personality and value resonate.