Many people believe that riding a bicycle is still the best way to get to places. What are the advantages and disadvantages to using a bicycle nowadays?

The bicycle is one of the most important vehicles for individuals to move around in cities. In the present day, some people argue that riding a bicycle is the best option to reach locations. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of using a bicycle. Firstly, the main advantage of riding a bike is to save money on transportation. Many people need to move around from place to place and this costs a huge amount of money if you go by private car or another paid method. As an example, a car requires fuel, maintenance, and insurance to be able to run and take you wherever you need. Also, buying a car can be very expensive for many people who only receive an average salary. Moreover, there are other positive impacts on health and in the environment if you only ride a bike. For instance, individuals who ride a bike every day can consider this as a way of workout, helping them to get in shape. In addition, if people ride a bike instead of a car, they will not produce greenhouse gases. This means that they will impact positively the environment. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks on riding bikes. For example, if you ride a bike in the streets with no specific bike lanes, there is a risk that you can be hit by another vehicle. This means that you can suffer injuries, because of places with no safety traffic for bikes. Another disadvantage is the harsh weather conditions on rainy days. Many countries and cities have this condition for a long time in a year, which means it is very difficult for bike riders to commute or get to places without wetting themselves. Thus, if you only ride a bike, it will become hard to leave home for work or leisure on rainy days. To conclude, there are positive impacts on riding a bicycle. Mainly in money savings but also for the environment and people’s health. However, riding a bike can be very difficult in places with bad weather as well as dangerous in the streets with no safe lanes.