What skills are taught in school in comparison to what is needed in actual life.

The school curriculum in the UK is designed by the Department of Education. They decide what subjects and skills the students need to learn in school and high school. When we talk about skills, we can distinguish between skill for our future jobs or skills required to run our household effectively. In this essay, I will discuss what is the current situation in the UK with respect to these two different skills sets in schools. Most of the parents are concerned about our kids ‘educations. We all want our children to have the best learning opportunities, as we all have the idea that this will help them to get good jobs in the future. Schools are really focus in teaching a variety of soft skills such as good communication, teamwork and empathy, that are extremely valuable for the current job market. Moreover, some schools offer their students work experiences, so they can learn the skills in the workplace. In addition to this, we have also a different type of skills that nowadays some people are claiming to be important and they are exploring the possibility to be included in the curriculum. I am referring to common life skills. Current research have illustrated that approximately 50% of the respondents would have liked to learn some kind of domestic finances in school. Moreover, nearly 40% of them thought that DYI maintenance jobs should be included in the school teaching programmes. In conclusion, school has the duty to prepare us for the future adulthood and for our jobs. Although the system teaches the student important skills to be used in the professions that they choose when they grow up, the government should listen to the current research and consider the necessity of adding some new common life skills to the current curriculum.