A job for life is no longer a reality. Many people are now employed on short-term contracts. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this kind of employment for employees?

When it comes to job issues, people often believe that having a permanent job is a success. However, in a fast-paced world, young generations are more inclined to seek temporary contracts. This essay will clarify the benefits and drawbacks of this trend affecting workers. There are obvious advantages for people who have a short-term job. Firstly, employees have a high degree of flexibility and freedom. Because of the characteristics of the job, there is not too much pressure on workers in terms of long-term commitments. As a result, people can have a greater autonomy in how and when they work, avoiding the monotony of repetitive tasks. Another significant point when doing a 'short' job lies in the ability to acquire a set of skills. Working and interacting in different locations, technologies and processes requires people to develop various skills needed for high productivity, such as e-learning, problem-solving, or interpersonal skills. Through this process, workers not only bring benefit towards their companies but also improve to become better versions of themselves. Nonetheless, this kind of job has potential problems for employees. The lack of job security is one of the most striking disadvantages. Signing the temporary contracts means that people can be fired anytime, as there are no commitments between both sides. Therefore, the employees experience uncertainty regarding their future employment and are constantly required to seek new missions. Last but not least, contract workers are often ineligible for employee benefits. A short-term employee only reveive salary without other welfare benefits. For example, pension fee, maternity policy, health insurance, etc are not included in short-term signing in comparison with people who are on the state payroll. These social welfare programs help people save a great amount of money when they get older or retire. In conclusion, while a temporary job brings workers the chances for development and happiness, it cannot secure long-term perks when they become older. Therefore, it is advisable to experience some short-term jobs when young and find a stable career when old enough to live a full life.