The government should not waste money on arts as this money would be better spent on other projects like sanitation or infrastructure. Do you agree with the above statement?

In some countries, the government must not spend more funds for artistic interests as that amount can be helpful for people when spent on the development of building, roads and improving cleanliness. I totally agree with this because it is unnecessary for common people and improving useful elements would be appreciated by them. Middle-class people, the majority of the population in developing countries, expect mandatory support from authorities which will help in the betterment of their day-to-day activities. Most of the population in such countries have the least requirement of art and its related pleasures and are least appreciated. For example, a tall single standing statue of Mr Vallabhai Patel is built in India last year under the rule of Mr Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister of India, for which he was criticized to a large extent by commoners and media, as India is in a great need of better education, medical support and infrastructure. Therefore, providing unnecessary amenities is not appreciated by the citizens. On the other hand, there are many countries in which basic needs are insufficient for the population exists. Construction of roads, hospitals, flyovers and improving the cleanliness of the surroundings will provide a comfortable life for everyone. For instance, in India, most of the government money is spent on developing rural areas with minimum needs and thousands of people are utilizing them efficiently which is highly appreciated by locals as it is providing them with a better quality of life. Hence, it is very important to spend money properly considering the needs of the people. To conclude, consuming the government's finances on arts is not appreciated by people who are in need of more necessary improvisations in development and sanitation of their country rather than arts and culture.