Some people believe that it is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places with a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of young people are going to university for further study. However, some people begin to doubt whether it is necessary to send so many students into tertiary education. While universities could provide more opportunities for people in their future careers, I do not think the government should make a huge effort to allow a high proportion of the youths to enter colleges. On the one hand, tertiary education could help people gain academic knowledge, which highly contributes to their lives after graduation from many aspects. Those valuable learning experiences in university could not only turn people into professionals and experts in their field such as teachers but also benefit their daily lives. For example, people who study psychology in the university can provide counselling to both others and themselves, which maintain the mental health of the whole society. On the other hand, the uprising trend for people entering colleges leads to a fall in those choosing vocational education. If those schools, such as the cooking institute, could not recruit enough students, they would shut down and provide fewer workers to the market. This might affect the orders of society due to the lack of professionals in the relating area. The difficulty for public bus companies to find drivers is a problem result in insufficient numbers of young people who would join the company instead of becoming a freshman in a college. It increases the workload for the current employer, which increase the risk of the traffic accident. In conclusion, I would agree that it is not necessary or helpful for the country to send more students into the university.