In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

It is evident that in these recent years, employees are more likely to spend more time at their offices rather than going home right after their working time. This essay will elaborate further on the reasons for this phenomenon which may cause a host of disadvantageous implications. On the first hand, it is justifiable for officers to spend some extra hours at their workplace, especially for the purpose of getting promotions in their career paths. First, in those competitive working environments, managers seem to give their labourers more jobs to be done before the next day, therefore, in order to pursue the current occupations, the workforce has to work overtime to tackle all of them. Besides, some people are of the opinion that going home late can make them more responsible, which shows that they deserve better positions in companies. In particular, in the Covid-19 crisis, there has been a lot of staff fired, the remaining ones have to work more and show all of their potentials to be kept by enterprises. On the other hand, there is a myriad of arguments in favour of the stance that this condition may bring more demerits to employees’ personal lives. One of the most conspicuous reasons is the fact that people are susceptible to have mental problems these days due to certain burdens in working places. Particularly, the amount of patients that go to psychological physicians has witnessed an upward trend with symptoms of insomnia and behaviour disorders. Furthermore, lacking personal time cause not only psychiatric problems but also conflicts among families’ members. For example, the connection between children and parents is not as close as it was in the past because of the lack of parenting. In conclusion, the ambition to get a better position is which makes people stay longer at their companies whether to finish every task or gain respect from others. In the view of all arguments outlined above, there is a negative development that may lead to some mental illness, as well as some conflicts in interpersonal relationships.