Nowadays shopping has become a new favourite pastime for young people. What are the reasons for this? should they be encouraged to develop other hobbies?

With the advancement of technology, people now have a lot of choices to choose as hobbies. Currently, the trend of shopping as a leisure time activity has become very popular in teenagers. I think adopting shopping as a hobby doesn't have any bad consequences on the young generation. Also, the main reasons behind this uprising trend will be discussed in this essay. To commence with, the corporate world has made shopping for customers really easy in the current era. To increase sales and in return generate more profit is the ultimate goal of the companies. In order to achieve this goal, they target their audience specifically. As we know that younger generations are more inclined towards their self-care and fashion trends. Therefore, most of the companies offer lucrative deals and introduce their unique collections to attract most of the youth. For instance, the results of a recent survey suggested that by introducing clearance sales at the end of the season, most organisations double folded their revenue. Also, the involvement of younger generations in shopping and adapting it as their new favourite leisure time activity, is often criticized. However, I really think that this habit doesn't have any bad effects if it is done within limits. For example, researches have shown that spending time in window shopping and such activities can enhance the researching and market competitive skills in teenagers. This habit enables the youth to take interest in their self-care and also urges them to work hard so that they can afford certain things that they really want. In conclusion, no doubt shopping has emerged as a promising hobby among the younger generations due to the constant and lucrative marketing techniques offered by the brands. This essay encourages youth to adopt shopping as a hobby if they have interest in it as it can earn them some benificial skills.