It is more important to have a good family than to have friends. Family can always compensate for absence of friendship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that having a family is a blessing in disguise, a person who has supportive and loving family members is very lucky, but I firmly believe families cannot compensate the companionship of a friend. This essay will opine my opinions with relative illustrations. To begin with, there is a very famous saying that we cannot choose our family but we can choose our friend. It is natural for people to drawn towards people who are like-minded, share similar interests and hobbies, this is something that is very rare to find in our own clan. For instance, a person who is very fond of listening to music but no one else in his family preferred listening music won't have an ally to share his hobby with. Thus, a person can feel left out in his own house, with nobody taking part in his desires. Similarly, there are many taboos topics that we can speak about with our families, we need our confidants to speak our thoughts in a safe space. For example, Sex is a controversial topic in many households, and not many children feel comfortable talking about it with their parents. In addition to this point, our peers are more likely to go to through similar life struggles as we are, so they can better understand our situation than our families. They might go to the same school, facing identical issues which qualifies them for a better advisor. For instance, an adolescent facing bully at school, and unable to communicate this to his parents, can find solace in a schoolmate who is gone through the same situation. Thus, the bond build on sharing similar experiences can be better than by the blood as they are easy to have a conservation with. Although, a bond that is shared between family is mostly unbroken at times when we grow up, we might develop different ideologies from our parents and that becomes a source of discomfort. For example, if our parents support right-wing and we support left-wing, it can tension between as our world view has evolved from there's. Similarly, absentee parents are not able to develop a strong bond with their off-springs. For example, if a parent is always working and not available in their child early years, a child will never develop a strong connection with them and end-up drifting away from them once the gets mature. To conclude, friends hold a special place in everyone's lives, we become a part of our community in which we find our peace. Though families are essential for providing endless love and support to our lives they cannot replace the importance of friendship in one's life.