Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

There has been an ever-increasing trend that people discard an excessive amount of food waste from all corners of the world. Although this problem can be attributed to a great number of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this. There are a number of reasons for this adverse tendency. The first reason for the rise in the amount of food waste is the increased supply of cheap and readily available food, which encourages people to buy more than they really need. For example, in order to increase sale revenue as well as compete with other brands, many fast- food restaurants nowadays have launched plenty of promotion programs such as “By 2 get 1 free”, which has attracted hundreds of customers and thus the huge amount of food waste will end up in landfills. Another reason is that in order to deal with busy lifestyles, people tend to buy food for the whole week rather than go to the supermarket on a daily basis. However, some kinds of fruits and vegetables easily become rotten within a few days and then thrown away. A wide range of strong measures must be implemented, not only by the government but also by individuals, to combat food waste. This first solution is that the government can develop some action plans to raise consumers’ awareness of food appreciation. This could be done by getting people involved in global food campaigns such as Think.Eat.Save and anti- food waste campaign, helping their citizens to become more conscious consumers and when everyone is fully aware of this, they would think more carefully when it comes to shopping for food. In terms of each consumer, it is important to make a detailed shopping list before going to the supermarket. This way helps them to have time to prepare and decide wisely what products should be bought, which eventually saves a lot of unnecessary food. In conclusion, Although food waste seems inevitable in today’s world, there are various ways to improve this problem.