Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and  solutions.

The global phenomenon of urbanization from the beginning of industrialization to the present day has brought opportunity and prosperity all over the world. Although this is a positive aspect of social and economic development, the quality of life has certain effects that need to be addressed. The underlying factors and solutions for this are outlined below. To begin with, the inflow of the city has tremendously increased over the last decade with the increase in opportunities. This has led cities to become overcrowded and thereby causing traffic congestion, which is a serious concern. Moreover, pollution levels are spiking throughout, which can possibly unbalance the whole ecosystem. For example, the report published by the Pollution Control Board witnessed the rate of decrease in fishing farms due to the toxins in lakes. Above all, the cost of living has become sky high for common people to reach. This has increased stress levels among individuals to become more competent to earn more to make the ends meet. In order to address these serious threats, infrastructure is one area where the government should invest in such as building more bike lanes encouraging bikers will aid in reducing the pollution as well as traffic congestion. Besides, air and water contamination can also be reduced by using more renewable sources such as solar and wind power. Indore, one of the major Indian cities ranked first in the country to consume more solar power. Furthermore, the government should regulate the cost of goods to increase the purchasing power of a common man. To conclude, a wealthy city attracts population inflows which then cause pressure on existing quality of life. Various solutions mentioned above can help mitigate such drawbacks, but nevertheless, a definite solution has yet to be found.