Nowadays many teenagers choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In modern society, the phenomenon of self-employment has become noticeably prevalent and popular. Graduates often prefer to start a trade rather than working in a certain company or organization after graduation. Following the aspiration in running a business on their own, however, there are some consequences and problems of being self-employed in reality. Therefore, I will explain the reason why there is such development and outline some of the disadvantages followed by this phenomenon in this essay. To begin with, teenagers would like to get self-employed mainly because of a goal to earn a decent salary after graduation and pursue an ideal environment for creativity. To be more specific, it is known that most of the graduates usually receive the lowest starting income when they begin to work in a company. For instance, the average salary for an intern in Hong Kong is approximately HKD 10-12K per month, although this is not the case for doctors, lawyers or other high-paid jobs. Teenagers may not be satisfied with the low salary after the completion of the four-year university program. Thus, they would choose to employ themselves for their own business. Another reason for the development of self-employment is due to the restriction of creativity in some professional fields. Ideas are vital for jobs related to the arts or research-based field. Adolescents may get anxious easily when their ideas are banned by their managers just because they are treated as an intern. Turning to the disadvantages of self-employed development, teenagers may suffer from financial problems and negative family relationship. Firstly, it is familiar that finance and investment often disturb entrepreneurs, especially for graduates. In addition to the lack of working experiences in the field, financial aids have become much more difficult to be received. On the other hand, entrepreneurs may be stressed out if they cannot get support from their families. For example, conflicts would be raised within a family when parents disagree with the decision of their children being self-employed. Having the pressure of both financial and social issue, youngsters are likely to suffer from psychological problems. To conclude, whether it is recommended to be self-employed is certainly up for debate. While a person decides to start a business, it is crucial to consider several factors regarding the consequences of being self-employed.