In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

It is argued that in some nations, people feel less safe compared to years back despite the declining number of criminal offences. This essay will suggest that the main reason that caused this is the continued use of illegal drugs by some individuals, and I believe that tighter security control is the key to solve the issue. It is inevitable that some people keep on using harmful substances in some parts of the world, most especially in an impoverished nation. People in developing countries dwell on using these types of drugs to alleviate hunger. However, the ill effects of using it will inflict harm on innocent people which may result in rape, murder, robbery or theft. That is why the safety of a person can not be assured because of the presence of drug users. For example, according to the World Health Organization, around thirty percent of people who went out of jail due to felony were caught using prohibited drugs in 2018. Governments should work on stricter security control measures to keep citizens away from those who are using illicit drugs so people would not have to worry about their safety wherever they are going. Although educating people about the risk of using dangerous drugs is one way of keeping them aware of the consequences of their actions, it does not protect people from crimes. For instance, more security personnel were hired in the city of Naga round-the-clock to keep an eye on any untoward incident that may happen in their place. In conclusion, the continuity of using prohibited drugs by other people is the chief cause, implementing a stricter safety control team is an effective means to tackle the dilemma.