Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

In the modern world, people love to purchase stuff from grocery stores. This trend impacts many small businesses in society and throughout this essay, I will explain this in detail and talk about the benefits and drawbacks of this routine. To begin with, many small shops can shut down due to this trend is the biggest problem these owners are facing nowadays. Lack of income will lead them with no other choice either to close the store or sell it to a third party. For example, my cousin uncle had to close his small vegetable store in Sri Lanka due to no profits and lack of income. Hence, individuals buying things from supermarkets can be the reason to close down local shops. However, there are some positive impacts of this development such as convenience. To explain more, these days convenient stores have everything you want under one roof. It helps to save you time, travelling cost as well. For example, a study done in Australia found out that, 85% of individuals love to do shopping in supermarkets because of the convenience. On the other hand, it can create some disadvantages to society. To make clear, grocery stores can be expensive compared to community markets and you can not always buy fresh produce from those outlets. Moreover, supermarkets may not sell homegrown fruits and vegetables. For instance, I can buy organic apple 1kg from the farmer's market just for $3 and grocery stores sell non-organic apple per kilo for $5. Thus, it is certain that the supermarket trend has major disadvantages. To sum up, supermarkets can cause local shops to close. But, shopping in grocery stores can be convenient. However, paying extra cash and not getting fresh items all time can be major drawbacks in this routine.