Idividuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a different. To what extent to you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An increasing number of people are concerned about environmental issues in recent decades. However, some people reckon that authorities and large corporations should shoulder all the responsibilities to tackle the issues, as normal persons can not undertake any action to help with it. In my view, I completely disagree with it for the following reasons. Firstly, it is obvious that, for most human beings, there are a substantial amount of actions available to do for improving our living surroundings. For example, we could use eco-friendly products in our daily life, such as cloth shopping bags and recycled dinnerwares, which will function to cut down the total usage of plastics. And also, people could ride bicycles and take public transport instead of using private vehicles to reduce the emissions of carbon dioxide. Therefore, without governments and companies, individuals can also provide their supports to prevent the deterioration of natural surroundings. Moreover, small efforts made by individuals can be transferred properly to inspire more people to join the communities and end up with an immeasurable power of human beings to solve environmental problems. For instance, Greta Thunberg who is a little girl at primary school, and she understood the need to take action to mitigate the effects on climate crises when she was at the age of eight. To spark change, Greta launched the School Strike for Climate to encourage students to skip school and demand human beings to take action to reduce carbon footprint and combat the effects of climate change. Her climate advocacy has led more than one million students around the world to protest climate change inaction. Hence, even a single person can influence a large number of others to join to take actions on environmental protection, and it can make significant development in the world. It is also true that governments and companies play an important role in the process of natural protections. But to ignore the positive contributions of individuals would be biased. There are, of course, plenty of actions can be taken by the authorities to make the difference in nature, such as introducing nature protection laws, collecting heavier taxes on unsustainable products and so on. Additionally, the corporations may use eco-friendly packaging and recycled materials for manufactures. But still, individuals’ effects and contributions cannot be neglected. In conclusion, even though the powers and large companies are important roles in preventing natural, ordinary people also shoulder a part of responsibilities on protecting nature. So I totally disagree with the statement.