The use of mobile phones in public areas is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so  mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that mobile phones in public areas are as antisocial as smoking. As smoking is banned in certain places, so also smoking should be banned in the same way. I strongly disagree with this statement for several reasons. On one hand, nowadays smoking is one of the major causes of death, as it can be harmful both for who smoke and for the others that are close to a smoker. Furthermore, smoking is dangerous for the environment as smoker tends to throw cigarettes without properly disposing of them, and this result in a more pollute environment. Moreover, smoking could be dangerous for our ecosystems as there is a higher chance that something can catch on fire. To cite an example, recent studies suggest that 80% of fires take places in parks and outdoor areas where smoking is allowed. On the other hands, mobile phones aren't harmful to the user and for the people that are near to the user. Although, studies show that these devices could have a negative effect on our health in a long period of exposure. It would be advisable that mobile phone are banned in certain places such as schools, universities and offices. By doing this, students and workers could be more motivated to work and perform better compared to those who are using mobile phones while such activities. For instance, when I was a student, I decided to limit the usage of my cellphone during exams periods as I could be more focused on my classes. To sum up, Governments should take severe measures to tackle this problem. Mobile phones should be banned from certain activities and places. Furthermore, we must educate our children to make the correct use of these devices.