Museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the knowledge of one’s own background is paramount for their self consciousness. There are some people who believe that museums and art galleries should prefer to acquire and expose their national artefacts while others have the idea of promoting foreign art. I tend to agree with the former statement and I will support my view in this essay. Nowadays, globalization has made possible the exchange between different nations. The opportunity to stay in touch with divergent points of views is an interesting tool for fighting against prejudice. Never had the world experienced such rapid communication and transportation systems. For instance, a century ago if a curator had desired to talk with an artist from abroad, they would have waited for months, even years until they could come up with a decision about the exposition agenda. However, despite the importance of this multicultural environment at the museums or galleries I believe that their main objective should remain on valorising local artists. The reason for this is that besides knowing others' culture is a great achievement, it is fundamental to both ennoble and understand one’s own culture. In recent years, what is in vogue in one place tends to be the same in different locations. As a consequence of modernity, especially due to the velocity of information, commercial art tends to repeat the same formulas to achieve fame and become profitable. To illustrate this idea it is shocking to notice the resemblance between a song performed by a K-pop group and an American Pop band or between the visual features from different countries’ art pieces. Hardly would an artist lose their identity like this in other times. Even though, if these same artists had not fit those established parameters, most likely they would not have sold such as they did. For this reason, it is crucial that curators and art galleries’ owners try to avoid following the dictates of fashion and seek for genuine art manifestations, prioritizing local people. In conclusion, even though it is awesome to experience other cultures through art it is necessary to ensure that regional artists have a place to call home and have guaranteed appreciation and support by their neighbourhood.