Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing important. What problems dose this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Nowadays, the decrease in the production of clean water has become a widespread controversy due to the side effects that it causes, such as health issues. Therefore, it's important to desalinate seawater to increase the supply of fresh water. One of the common problems that contaminated water causes is health problems. This is because human organs are used to clean water, which will make the body reject it and get affected by the diseases transmitted through contaminated water. Therefore, it will definitely spread diseases such as cholera, typhoid, and gastrointestinal infections. In addition, agriculture relies heavily on fresh water to produce nutrients. Thus, in this case, it will cause a decrease in crop production and harm the lives of humans and animals. To illustrate, recent studies have shown that agriculture uses most of the world's freshwater, and water scarcity can significantly reduce crop yields, threatening food security. To solve these challenges, governments need to desalinate seawater. This means that governments should invest in desalination machines and advanced technologies to provide additional resources for clean water, especially in coastal areas. Thereby, it can alleviate the water shortage, especially since the sea is an endless source. To be more clear, a study focusing on seawater desalination in Arab countries, including Algeria, indicates that desalination has become an essential solution to address water shortages, considering the inexhaustible nature of seawater as a resource. In conclusion, the increase in pure water is a serious concern because it will harm both humans and animals due to the decrease of crop yields. Governments should put the effort and money into desalinating ocean water to bridge the gap in providing clean water.