some people believe should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people believe should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. I strongly agree with the first statement for several reasons. Firstly, knowing another language is extremely useful for everyone, as it could enable people to connect with others and know more about other cultures. Moreover, it could help people that are looking for a job since they can search and operate in a market that uses different languages. On the one hand, it would be advisable that children start to learn a foreign language from the time they start school or even before when is possible. Students in primary school normally have a lower number of subject to study compared to the secondary school programs, for this reason, they could learn just the basic and they could start practice and be used to that language. Moreover, children in early age are more propositive to learn and perform better compared to teenagers. To cite an example, studies suggest that when another language is taught in the first 4 years of life, children learn 60% faster compared to children that start studying a language in secondary schools. On the other hands, in secondary schools, students normally have more subject to study than children, thus, they could be less motivated and might focus on other subjects or activities such as sports or similar. For instance, when I was a student in Rome, just 10% of all students applied for a language course, while nearly 60% applied for sports activities. Moreover, studies suggest that teenagers could learn better and faster compared to an adult, although, they need more time to learn than young children. So, it would be advisable to start as early as possible teaching a new language to young children. To conclude, learning a new language could improve our lifestyle and our success in life, I personally believe that both parents and institutions should cooperate in order to teach as early as possible a new language to children.