Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

People have different views on whether innate nature exerts the biggest influence on the personality we exhibit or not. Although our characteristics usually are shaped before we are born to some extent, I do believe that external factors such as experiences are much more important in shaping our personality. On the one hand, innate characteristics determine our personality to some extent. Firstly, genetics play an important role in determining our temperament and the decisions we make. For example, children especially in their childhood are more likely to make the same decision as that made by their parents without knowing. Additionally, brain structure and chemistry can also impact our cognitive abilities and emotional responses. However, we are more likely to be influenced by external factors. To begin with, education is a determining factor in shaping who we are. To be specific, those receivers of formal and systematic education usually have a wider range of knowledge and acute insights compared with those people who lack corresponding learning experiences. Furthermore, working experience and lessons would further influence our spirits and temperament, either facilitating our growth or hindering our development. For instance, those people who are willing to learn from lessons and apply the knowledge they learn to reality usually are more likely to succeed in their career path. Besides, our family environment and the upbringing we received shape our values and our behaviours. Take those children who are brought up in a notable family as an example, they usually exhibit a higher level of self-esteem and confidence. In conclusion, while I can understand the reason why someone thinks that we are what we were born, in most cases, the innate characteristics would not last long and would be replaced and influenced by life experience. Therefore, I would argue that it is the external factors that shape who we are most.