There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing shortage cause severs social consequences in cities and only the government can solve these problems. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, due to the overpopulation and the fact that more and more people are moving around the world housing shortage has become a serious issue. Moreover, nowadays business companies operate in international markets so workers tend to move in different countries more often than it was before. As a result, fewer houses are available on the market, due to this shortage the prices will go up, thus, only the rich families could afford a apartment in the cities centre, while, medium-income families must go away and search for a house in suburban areas. To cite an example, when I was working in London, I was sharing my house located in central London with 11 inmates as the prices of the house were too high for just one person. Secondly, governments should act in order to tackle this problem by promulgating laws and regulations that don' t allow landlords to rent apartments for short periods of time such as touristic rent. Because of this situation,a lot of properties are driven out from the proper market as only the tourist and not citizen could afford them. Another solution could be creating more houses using the existing building that isn' t used anymore. Studies suggest that in each city at least 5% of the buildings aren' t used and normally 20% of them are in good conditions. For example, in my country, the governments took an old industrial factory that wasn' t used anymore and converted in livable houses, now in that structure are living more than 300 families. To sum up, governments should take more seriously these problems as they could lead to huge issues and bad situations such as homeless people. To avoid this we should act and cooperate to solve this situation as soon as possible.