Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided over contributing factors of being successful at a sport. Although some people take the view that innate talent is quite essential, others believe that diligent effort and constant practice is of paramount importance. There is no doubt that inborn talent plays a major role in this path. To begin with, the contribution of innate ability to developing athletic skills seems undeniable. That is to say, not only do genes inherited from parents improve a person’s athleticism, but also help him/her master all skills required to become a consummate professional. Take Casper Schmeichel, for example – he is the son of former well-known Danish goalkeeper and has been a shining star in British Premier League for a long time the same as his father. Therefore, innate talent is superior to hard work and practice. In addition, the power of natural ability in successfulness at a sport is indubitable. It is mainly because the majority of top sporting nations are believed to be scouting young athletes so as to flourish their talents and take advantage of them in international competitions. According to the latest statistics, a significant number of medal winners in recent sporting events are those who have shown a sign of special talent at low ages and prior to embarking on a professional sport. Nevertheless, some people consider hard work and perseverance as indisputable factors of successfulness at a sport. In their view, people are able to compensate for the paucity of innate ability provided that they strive to gain skills and spend a load of time to learn from their mistakes. In fact, the more they learn, the more they move toward their goals. For example, there are a plethora of countries, such as Japan which have recently won unprecedented trophies by embarking upon joint international camps and designing hard training. To conclude,It is an incontrovertible fact that innate talent exerts an important influence on people’s improvement and successfulness at sport, and consequently,all countries must focus on their talented people if they want to be as successful as possible in the sporting world.