With growing population in cities, more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas. Is it a positive or negative development?

Many people are moving to urban places for various reasons which is impacting our standard of living. Confined houses with small or no outdoor spaces are built to accommodate the increasing population. I strongly believe that this development has a negative impact on one's life. The first reason is that with an increasing number of urban dwellers, cities are getting crowded and expensive. A lot of people can only afford small houses which lack in proper outdoor setting. These confined houses, as a result, harm the residents' lives in numerous ways. One of which is their social life. With busy schedules and work pressure, one would want to invite friends or family to their residence for small gatherings or celebrations during their leisure time. However, due to confined spaces with no or less open-air areas, they avoid such house gatherings, which results in feeling lonely. Thus, the compact houses built due to overcrowding in cities have an adverse effect on human societal beings. Another reason is that it affects people's mental and physical health. A lot of urban houses may not have any balconies as well as good ventilation due to centralised air conditioning. This restricts the natural air and cross ventilation in the accommodation, as a result affecting human physical health by causing respirational diseases. On the other hand, there is no space for residents to feel relaxed or release their stress and anxiety away from closed walls, consequently, affecting their mental health. Children, for example, will not be able to access outdoor play in their free time as there is no proper space unless adults take them to a garden or playground which is not possible every day. Urban development with no or less outdoor space, therefore, adversely affects human health. To conclude, in my opinion, the development of houses with no or less outdoor space in cities to accommodate the increasing population is a negative development. It not only affects people's social life but also has a major impact on their physical and mental health