We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer–based technology. How do you think it will change in the future? Is it good for us to rely so much on computers?

An extremely significant topic today is related to the dependency on computers and other technologies. Even though computers are relatively new inventions, they have become an indispensable part of our lifestyles. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the future prospects of technology and whether we can benefit from using it. To begin with, in my opinion, technologies have a promising future. The majority of people today use not only household appliances but also some modern devices such as smartphones, the Internet, etc. This can serve as a proof for the fast pace of electronics development. New occupations are created, for example, programmers and software engineers, who are making innovations in the sphere of computer science. Even so, the dependency of technologies is already detected by many psychologists and many of them are evolving their knowledge of how technologies are affecting our neurological system. Therefore, in the future, they will find a way to treat our digital dependence. On the other hand, it is not acceptable to rely on computers all the time. Computers provide us with information and knowledge. Nevertheless, recently conducted research shows that they cause us “digital dementia”. “Digital dementia” is a term used to define our disability to remember information, which we could do if we do not overuse our modern devices. For instance, the overuse of the World Wide Web makes us too dependable and we are less likely to think logically. This is because the information is given beforehand and we take it for granted. By doing this, we decrease our memory and concentration abilities. To summarise, I firmly believe that although computers give us numerous benefits, eventual revolutions will certainly exceed our expectations. However, even if those prospects are extremely appealing to us, we should remain responsible and never use them too much.