Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums in many countries do not take any charge whereas some receive fees for entry into that place. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of imposing a charge for admission are eclipsed by its advantages. Firstly, this essay will demonstrate that the earning amount from the entry fee is invested to refurbish the museum and it adds benefits to expand the museum activities, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely giving the opportunity to all people, is not valid. Despite having the demerits bellow, this essay believes that the benefits gained from charging an amount by the museum authority are extremely useful. One major upside is that the authorities of the museum can do renovation work form the entry fees easily. Moreover, they do not have to depend on the government subsidy to do any work or exhibition in the museum. This is illustrated by the fact that the British Museum is solely run by its own income which is earned from the entry fee and the exhibition charge. It is also advantageous to charge a small amount of money in the museum because people always value to those for which they pay. In other words, as free things are considered as granted, museums should charge for admission to give a message to the public about their valuable items. For instance, it Japan when their national museum was free for all, they did not visit that place because they thought that in the free place there might not have any fascinating thing. Admittedly, there are some issues involved in the case of applying fees in museums. One downside is that all classes of people in society do not get the opportunity to visit the museums. The reason is that not all people can afford to pay the entry fee of museums. However, this view is not strongly supported because admission fee is decided by considering all income people of a nation and it always stays within the range of a tolerance level. For example, an empirical study Cambridge University found that 90% of museums in the world impose a very small fee to run their activities smoothly as well as to attract visitors in a large quantity. In conclusion, this essay believes that the disadvantages of charging for admission are overshadowed by its merits because of having money to run the museums effectively.