In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. To what extent do you think its benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, people can enjoy more kinds of food from foreign countries than before. While some people argue it may harm the development of the local food industry, I think there are more benefits from the trend of transporting food globally. On the one hand, when people have more choices for meals or snacks, they are more likely to try the alien one as fashion, which may cause a negative impact on local food production. For example, more and more young Japanese are crazy about bubble tea from Taiwan, replacing the domine role of traditional green tea as a leisure beverage. Such a trend indirectly results in a falling number of tea farmers. More importantly, importing food could threaten the domestic one from the aspect of culture. While the new generation enjoys foreign products, they are gradually losing their sense of the local one, which turns to be so unpopular and finally extinct. On the other hand, facing the challenge from foreigners, local production may develop their skills and improve the flavor to attract more customers, which enhances the quality of foods for people. To protect and extend the market share, the domestic food company would even create products for overseas buyers. Many Japanese tea producers have already adopted such a strategy aiming at the foreign market, such as decrease the bitterness of the tea. It could be regarded as a cultural export since the green tea, as a symbol of Japan, is recognized internationally. To conclude, although the imports of food is a challenge, both local productor and customers would be benefited.