With the increase in computer use, many people feel that schools do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mental mathematics skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In recent years, computer users around the world have grown drastically. As a result technological material is used increasingly in schools around the globe. However, many people question therefore whether schools should put much emphasis on teaching students basic handwriting skills and mental mathematics skills. This essay will examine both viewpoints and give a plausible conclusion. To begin with, the use of technological machinery in lessons has increased since the onset of the digital age. Nearly all professions around the world involve computer use and even the simplest tasks are carried out via electronic material. Hence, it is important for students to learn how to use technology correctly for their future careers. Also, electronic devices offer various learning advantages. For instance, academic notes and assignments can be completed much faster and more neatly using these tools. Nonetheless, practical skills such as using and holding a pen correctly are likewise vital for future careers. For that reason, students have to be taught at early ages how to carry out simple tasks using basic skills, such as writing. Moreover, it is also essential that a pupil develops neat handwriting, as in the case of a technological problem the pupil will have to write by hand. Furthermore, final exams are typically written by hand and thus the scholar must develop the basic skill of holding a pen and writing with it and mathematics skills are no different. To Illustrate, people will not always have a device with them to carry out calculations and the ability to do arithmetic in the head is a vital skill for operating in today’s world. In conclusion, I personally believe that schools should keep a balance between using practical skills and using electronic material to carry out certain tasks by having student submit assignments created electronically, yet also by having them complete assignments by hand in class and without computers or calculators. This balance is important, as if the focus lies only on one of the two aspects, the pupil will face problems later on in life.