Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's fast-growing world, just like everything crime rate has also risen exponentially. Certain people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the foremost way to minimize crime while others think there are other better ways to do so. In my opinion, while a long prison sentence is one of the option to lower the crime rate, it is not necessarily the best way to decrease crime. On the one hand, some people prefer that long jail term should be given to criminals so that the crime rate would be lower. They may think this because if there are no more criminals in the open then there would be less criminal activities. This can actually work. But in contrast, this can create chaos as we can not give long sentences to a person who has not done anything dangerous. For instance, giving a te-year jail term to someone who has stolen a car is justified but giving it someone just stole some clothes is not justified. This may lead to a lot of problems for the jailhouse as well as the court. On the other hand, I think that there are other better alternative ways of reducing crime such as better security and self-awareness. In other words, if people are better aware of their surroundings and learn about the new rules and also make others aware can help in minimizing the crime. Additionally, people installing better security techniques such as CCTV cameras and alarm systems can make fear in thieves. Furthermore, counselling sessions with the existing people who are behind the bars can make them leave such kind of work. This essay has discussed both the views in detail. To conclude, although some people think that a long prison sentence is the best way to reduce crime, however, I believe that there are other ways of decreasing crime.