The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Science is one of the most important factors in the development of modern civilization. The aim of science is often debated, with many arguing that its primary objective should be to enhance human lives. I fully agree with this statement due to two main reasons. First, the achievements of science have great impacts on the advancements of society. It is important to note that science can be classified into different categories which contribute to our lives in direct or indirect ways. Practical science plays a vital role in various major fields. For instance, all new drugs and treatment methods for various diseases in healthcare are dícoveries of researchers. In transportation, the improvements in engineering techniques result in new models for vehicles. Advanced tools and machines that automate work on the farms are accomplished only through incremental efforts in machinery. On the other hand, basic research may not result in immediate benefits but has promising accomplishments in the long term. The invention of electricity, for example, basically advanced our community to the next technological era with long-lasting effects through centuries. Second, science not only improves our lives but also relies on the existence of community. A lot of publications wouldn’t have been possible without support from funding foundations. In addition, research requires knowledge passed down by others and resources that only great organizations can provide. In the end, science is the doing of mortals, and its acquired knowledge would only persist through generations thanks to others. In contrast, some scientific achievements which served no purpose soon faded from existence and left no legacy. Science only has meaning when it is tied to the mutual benefits of humankind. In conclusion, there is no doubt that humans are the driving force behind the purpose of science. Our society and science coexist in a close and intangible relationship.