In recent years more and more people are choosing e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

A growing number of people tend to read digital books instead of printed books nowadays. The overall advantages of e-books outweigh disadvantages although they have a few negatives. This essay will discuss why sometimes digital books have some disadvantages but why they have more advantages. The main benefits of e-books are that they are more convenient and much cheaper. Readers can access an enormous number of books just through their electronic devices. They do not need to have much space at home to store their books as digital books can be stored in their devices. Furthermore, reading e-books is always much cheaper than purchasing printed books and sometimes it is even likely to find some free online reading applications. More people have a chance to read books, especially for those who cannot afford these expensive books. For example, it is reported that all books published before 1923 in the US are in the public domain and are available for readers for free. As a result, it is trendy to reading online these days as its significant positives. On the other hand, it is true that e-books have some negatives. Despite digital books are convenient to read and keep, they have the threat of getting corrupted, deleted and pirated or just getting lost anytime. Also, we require batteries and powers to read a digital book. For instance, a recent survey reveals that there are still a large number of people who prefer traditional books because of the disadvantages of e-books. Therefore, the negatives of e-books can not be ignored. In conclusion, many people are reading digital books. This essay discussed why digital books have some negatives but why their positives are more outweighed. The advantages of reading digital books outweigh its disadvantages.