A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that prolonging the prison time is a good way to give warning to criminals. However, nowadays some countries already cancelled the death punishment because they believe it is too harsh to deprive of people's life. In my opinion, even though increasing prison time is an efficient way to avoid violence, soft policies also needed. There will be more hardened criminals if longer prison terms are put onto them. Staying at prisons too long will make them lag behind others and lose hope and energy for a long time, when released back to the society, they find themselves desocialization and useless. For example, a killer who stayed in the prison for 10 years find himself already lack of basic living skills and lose contact with personal relationship circles. Afterwards even though he has freedom, he can't make a living by himself anymore, pushing him to rob others and easily commiting another crimes. A better pattern is that connecting hard and soft policies together to reduce criminals, where adding some education parts to instruct and persuade them. Too much hard policies like increasing prison time can cause negative mentalities and psychological problems, which brings about more troubles for the society. However, if using the limited time efficiently, governments can initiate some classes to educate parents-child campaigns in prisons and invite criminals' family members and children together to join. During the process, they can understand that freedom is the basic right to gather with children and achieve self-education that they need to regret of their mistakes and change themselves actively to gain the right. Pushing someone to change is always less useful than the person to change from the deep heart. To sum up, educating and persuading criminals in the limited time can contribute to changing both their behaviors and mental thoughts from their deep heart compared with the policy of longer prison time.