Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

The experimentation on animals is an urgent concern for many people nowadays considering the harmful consequences that it can bring to the species used. From my perspective, before taking a position regarding if this activity should be prohibited or must continue, several ethical issues must be discussed first. First of all, I strongly believe that considering the enormous and variety of sickness that exists today, we need to focus all our efforts in practice effective and reliable scientific research to improve the health of the people. Unfortunately, sometimes this process implies experiment several solutions in animals before applying them on humans. This is the current case of the COVID-19 vaccine, which is being developed for several laboratories around the world. All these institutions are testing their solutions on rats before evaluating their effects on humans. If this step is eschewed, humans could die during the process, which can lead to harmful consequences for the company (public reputation, legal consequences, among others). On the other hand, the experimentation in animals is based on the idea that human life is more relevant than animals-life, which I could not say that is totally true. This is why I believe that, when it is possible, another testing alternatives should be considered as well. Considering the development of technology during the last decades, we could use computers to do a undred or thousands of simulations to test a solution first. This is the case of beauty companies, which in general do not test on animals anymore, after replacing their testing stages by computer-based simulations. There is not a right answer to this question. We must find quickly solutions to illness such as cancer, hiv or covid-19. Due to that, experimenting on animals could be a more reliable solution that computer-based simulation right now. However, we could not forget that animals have also rights, and that our life is not more important than theirs. Therefore, scientific research also should focus on alternatives solutions to this matter, which each of one must be effective and reliable.