Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of fast pace growth and an increased rate of shopping complexes in several countries, many local businesses have come to an end. Some people argued that the closing of local businesses may impact local communities a lot. I completely agree with the statement that the enlargement of shopping centres may affect the shutdown of native livelihood. In this essay, I will illustrate two concepts which are discounts,entertainment and delivery service provided by the supermarket and secondly, how this has impacted traders in the long run. First of all, it can be noticed that current people mostly prefer shopping complexes as they get attracted by the big concepts of the one-stop-shop solution, which helped them to get a variety of qualitative and quantitative products at discounted prices and the home delivery services provided by them. Although, shopping has become a family outing for many people where they can watch movies, play games and purchase goods in one place. For example, when people go for monthly grocery shopping at Big Bazaar they pre-plan everything and the entire family goes out and enjoy the food court and entertainment zone which provided in the complex. Meanwhile, another trend worth noticing is that many local traders nowadays find it difficult to sell their products on a large scale because of the discounts and facilities provided by supermarkets. Therefore, many local businessmen are planning to shut down as they find it difficult to meet the expectations of native customers in terms of discounts. For instance, recently I visited Reliance supermarket to buy some Diwali gifts and I was shocked after looking at the discount price up to 50% at the Cadbury products they were offering which even local traders can’t get themselves. Therefore, in conclusion, supermarkets should fix the price, discount percentage of the products and put caps on the buying quantity of the product. As big discounts affect the local businesses and local communities a lot as they can’t challenge the supermarket.