Some people think the qualities a person needs to become successful in today's world can't be learned at a university or similar academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that universities or colleges have failed to deliver the vital qualities of a successful person. While there are several strong arguments for this opinion, I still concur that it would be more beneficial for individuals to attend tertiary education. One reason to oppose the above view is that academic institutions would prepare for students the foundations needed to pursue their future career. For instance, the dream to succeed in Auditory field would be more realistic if a person is bolstered by a vast amount of knowledge in Accounting and Finance, which is mainly taught in universities. Moreover, a man might be ineligible to secure a decent job unless he owns an Honor degree. After all, having finished undergraduate studies is a requirement from most companies these days. Last but not least, support from colleagues or lecturers cannot be overlooked. In today’s time, having a great mentor or a companion would definitely pave the way to success. The supporters of the opinion have noted that it might be unnecessary to strive for higher qualifications since the qualities of a successful person can only be found in real-life experience. In an extent, this might be true, considering the fact that some fresh graduate with first -class honours still struggles in the work environment, due to insufficient level of exposure to soft skills in an office. Nevertheless, these skills can be learned or gained via universities’ workshops or voluntary projects. Secondly, to forfeit university studies in order to work immediately requires an immense level of assertiveness and intellectual prowess, which rarely can be seen in most individuals. To conclude, I strongly believe that to be successful, university education would be extremely essential, even with cases like Bill Gates, who dropped out of university to establish his own empire. Perhaps so as to be successful without a degree, one must boast a natural talent which would allow him to achieve his goal without proper training.