Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that people who have educational degrees commit fewer crimes than those who do not have such diplomas. Moreover, while criminals are in prison, it would be better to educate them. Personally, I opine that such statements are unlikely truthful as a lot of people who have good education are kept in prison. Moreover, making these people educated, authorities cannot even guarantee the fact that criminals will not make any crime in future. Being educated, people commit crimes consciously and elaborately as it does not depend on the level of education. Sometimes their knowledge can even help them to invent variable ways of offenses and count every step avoiding being caught. For example, there were a lot of famous serial killers in the world who had good education, jobs and families but they killed a great number of people. However, the criminals` behavior did not depend on their educational level as it was likely connected with their mental condition. Furthermore, if the governments educate criminals, they will spend much more money as they usually do. What is more, nobody can give a guarantee that offenders will be able to stop their outlaw way. Little do people realize that when convicts are released, they will be able to meet their old friends, who can suggest them to start doing the same things as they had been doing before prison. In conclusion, I am convinced that committing crimes does not depend on the level of education. That is because even educated people commit crimes and when people are given education in jail, it does not mean that they decide not to commit crimes after getting the diploma.