the development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world.some people think this will lead to english becoming the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Over the years, English has become one of the most important languages which are used throughout the world because of a substantial increase in tourism. In my opinion, having a common language would help many non-English speaking countries' tourism and economy. However, this may lead to the extinction of the number of less spoken languages. Communicating in common language will help to increase the visitors in many beautiful countries which consists of a lot of local attractive tourist spots. Conversely, these places are not particularly famous due to the communication barrier between the locals and visitors which can be resolved when everyone can converse in English. For instance, India is a country which has become drastically known in the past couple of decades and improved their economy as they introduced English as compulsory and the official. Hence it is advantageous to the English speaking countries for their countries global recognition. On the other hand, there is a great chance of many infamous languages being extinct because of high usage of English. People would consequently forget their's while incorporating English in their everyday use and instead of communicating in their tongues. India; for example, is a country of multi-lingual cultures in which many of those are now less used and a few are already extinct such as, Sanskrit. Therefore, the extinction of it stands as a huge disadvantage for having a common language in the world. In conclusion, an increase in tourists has made English the most spoken throughout the globe which creates an advantage of improving tourism and economy in many wonderful states with a less spoken dialect. But there is also an equal chance of beautiful less spoken ones being erased forever.