In Many Countries Today, Crime Novels And TV Crime Dramas Are Becoming More And More Popular

Crime and thriller have become a popular genre among many people, especially among young adults. Tv and books have managed to capture the audience ’s attention because it not far from the reality that we live now. The rise in crime around the world and its depiction in form entertainment allows people to relate to the current situation of their countries. This essay will look into the reasons behind its popularity and will present my opinion in the conclusion. To begin with, crimes around the world record all-time high. Many countries like Colombia have been under civil unrest for many years and still are. Tv series like Narcos that is based on the life of a famous drug cartel provides insights to the audience of his life, it tells the story from his perspective. News channels tend to show the government’s narratives, but its shows like these that will tell the audience their side of the story, which intrigued the viewer's attention. Similarly, tell-all books from criminals or accused felons give the opportunity to the accused to share their version of the story with the world. People are always intrigued by mysteries and enigma around famous people. For instance, docuseries made on Jeffery Epstein become extremely popular, because that man was always a mystery to the world. This series tells the audience about his life and crimes in his prime time and how he used to get away with due to his connections with politicians. I believe, these shows are goodwork of fiction but also drive inspirations from our current ecosystem which makes it more interesting. These crimes fiction with a good ending like bad guy dying in the end somehow provides gratification to viewers, as in real- world It is far from reality. There is always a narrative that good guy will save the day, will emerge as a hero to protect us all from evil. These fiction shows also provides closure to the audience and reinstates our faith in law and bureaucracy, feeling hopeful that one day this will happen in the real world. For example, there will be an honourable cop who will fight and protect us from the mafias. To conclude, the popularity of this genre says the sad tale of the world, we live in but also provides hope that one day, our world be a better place and the heroes that we admire will emerge to fight for us