In some countries, some people are renting accommodation, while others are buying their own homes. Does renting accommodation have more advantages or more disadvantages than buying a place?

In the modern world, shelter is one of the main necessity for humans. Some people prefer to lease apartments and others like to buy their dream place. However, I believe there are more drawbacks in leasing someone else's building and throughout this essay, I will explain it in detail. To begin with, the biggest problem of renting somebody's place is the rental fee might go up annually due to the circumstance. If you have bought your shelter monthly payment has been fixed for 10 or 20 years. since you are on contract with the landlord you have to adjust with changes. Moreover, people ended up paying someone else's mortgage. For example, I am renting a townhouse in Melbourne with my husband for almost 5 years and the payment has gone up every year. Hence, the increase in the monthly payment is one of the major drawbacks of leasing accommodation. Furthermore, the tenant has to agree with certain rules and regulations. Since you live in someone's home there are limits for the changes you could do. People won't be able to paint a different colour on walls or do some adjustment in the garden. Things will be changed according to the owner's will. For instance, my sister was living in a temporary apartment and she could not get the approval to change the structure of the main bedroom. Thus, having less ability to replace or swap things is one of the disadvantages of living in a temporary place. To sum up, I believe there are more drawbacks of leasing property such as the increment of the annual rental fee and having less ability to replace or change the structure of the house.