It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important to make some risky moves in a career as well as in individual life. Although this may harm a person in the short term, it allows them to create new opportunities and I believe this advantage far outweighs any potential disadvantages. Making a risky move may hurt a person short term. For example, adults who are psychologically controlled by their parents because they still receive financial support from the latter. If they stop relying on their parents so that can be free to go after their dreams, they may face short-term depression due to losing the convenience their parents provide. The same can be true for a worker who makes a career shift that involves a big pay cut. However, I don't think that a short-term sacrifice should be seen as the major disadvantage in a person's life because it can pay off greatly in the long run. On the positive side, risks bring opportunities. For instance, if Priscilla Chan's grandparents hadn't been courageous enough to move to the US from Vietnam, Chan wouldn’t have had an opportunity to study at Harvard, let alone meet and marry Mark Zuckerberg. If Mark Zuckerberg hadn’t dropped out of Harvard to focus on Facebook, it would be another one, rather than Facebook which became the biggest social media platform in the world. I think that opportunities like these are extremely important because they can be life-changing. In conclusion, while risk-taking may hurt people in the short term, the potential benefits hidden in the risks that most people are not brave enough to take greatly outweigh such adverse effects.