Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Numerous animals are experiencing a significantly fast reduction in the proportion of their species, and this issue raises concerns for humanity. This essay will identify the possible factors of this treacherous phenomenon and provide viable solutions. To begin with, there can be no doubt that illegal hunting is the primary reason behind this problem, as people need to acquire skins and furs from extinct species like tigers, bears, and snakes. This is mainly due to the increasing demand from consumers, especially from renowned designer brands that utilise high-quality materials to produce their items. Additionally, the escalating deforestation trend also contributes to this problem by causing those animals to lose their habitat. Take the urbanisation process as the perfect example to encapsulate this; trees and forests need to be knocked down in order to construct a multitude of new buildings. In essence, human activities have significantly altered natural balance. To tackle these issues, one effective approach is to implement stricter rules regarding these detrimental activities; therefore, the irresponsible culprits could be captured and receive sanctions due to their harmful behaviour. This is reinforced by the fact that there was an approximate discrepancy of 34% compared to the previous years in deforestation activities when the Malaysian government first executed this policy in 2012. Furthermore, campaigns also should be done to provide awareness and educate juveniles on the hidden pitfalls of these issues. In other words, government policies play a paramount importance in enforcing environmental protection measures. In conclusion, in light of what has been discussed, it is worth noting that the root causes of animal extinction are harmful human activities. However, there should be stringent regulations to protect our flora and fauna.